Stroud Sports Clinic | Stroud Times

Angela Newing awarded 2021 Institute of Physics Phillips Award


Professor Angela Newing, a retired medical physicist from Stroud, has been awarded a 2021 Institute of Physics Phillips Award. 

The Institute of Physics (IOP) is the professional body and learned society for physics, and the leading body for practising physicists, in the UK and Ireland.  

Its annual awards proudly reflect the wide variety of people, places, organisations and achievements that make physics such an exciting discipline. 

The IOP awards celebrate physicists at every stage of their career; from those just starting out through to physicists at the peak of their careers, and those with a distinguished career behind them.  

They also recognise and celebrate companies which are successful in the application of physics and innovation, as well as employers who demonstrate their commitment and contribution to scientific and engineering apprenticeship schemes. 

The IOP Phillips Award is for distinguished service to the Institute of Physics. 

Professor Newing, who was Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Director of Medical Physics for many years, is also a retired Professor of Medical Physics at Cranfield University, where she supervised several PhD students.  Until recently she was Chair of the Insitute of Physics South West Region. 

She has received her Phillips Award for ‘her many contributions to the Institute of Physics through her support of the South West Branch, her service on Council and its subcommittees, and her ongoing support of retired members through the retired members network’.  

Speaking about her award, Professor Newing said: “I am glad to have received this particular prize, as I am a past chairman of the Mayneord-Phillips Trust, which was set up in Phillips’ memory to further the studies of post-graduate students of Medical Physics.  We ran Summer schools at Phillips’ old college, St Edmund Hall, Oxford.” 

Congratulating this year’s Award winners, Institute of Physics President, Professor Sheila Rowan, said: 

“On behalf of the Institute of Physics, I warmly congratulate all of this year’s Award winners. 

“Each and every one of them has made a significant and positive impact in their profession, whether as a researcher, teacher, industrialist, technician or apprentice. 

“Recent events have underlined the absolute necessity to encourage and reward our scientists and those who teach and encourage future generations. We rely on their dedication and innovation to improve many aspects of the lives of individuals and of our wider society.” 

Professor Newing has also been a magistrate in Gloucestershire since 1978 and sometime chairman of Cheltenham Bench, and is a keen bell-ringer. 

Latest News

New Tesco store opens

Tesco has welcomed customers to the opening of a new store based at Five Valleys shopping centre in Stroud.
Skip to content