- Advertisement -Meningitis Now is the UK's largest meningitis charity, offering support, funding research and raising awareness.

MP constituencies are set to change


Everyone can air their views on proposals that will alter Parliamentary constituencies in the Stroud district.

The Boundary Commission has published its revised proposals on the review of Parliamentary constituency boundaries including Stroud constituency. The revised proposals are being consulted on until December 5.

Reviewing constituency boundaries is an essential process to make sure that each Member of Parliament represents an equal amount of people.

The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial public body which wants to hear your views, to make sure its final recommendations to Parliament take account of local views and knowledge.

It’s easy to have your say – view and comment on the proposals online at www.bcereviews.org.uk  

Current Stroud constituency:

The Stroud Constituency area matches with the Stroud District Council area, with the exception of Kingswood, Wotton-under-Edge (except Stinchcombe which forms part of Wotton-under-Edge district ward but is part of the Stroud constituency) and Minchinhampton wards forming part of The Cotswolds constituency.

Initial proposals (published 2021) 

  • Bisley, Chalford, Hardwicke and Painswick & Upton wards transferred to The Cotswolds constituency.
  • Minchinhampton ward remains in The Cotswolds constituency.
  • Kingswood and Wotton-under-Edge wards transferred from The Cotswolds constituency to the Stroud Constituency.

Revised Proposals (published on the 8 December, changes to initial proposals in bold)

  • Bisley, Hardwicke and Painswick & Upton wards are transferred to The North Cotswolds constituency (previously The Cotswolds constituency)
  • Chalford ward is brought back into the Stroud constituency
  • Minchinhampton stays in The North Cotswolds constituency (previously The Cotswolds constituency)
  • Wotton-under-Edge ward is transferred from The Cotswolds constituency to the Stroud constituency (except Stinchcombe which continues to remain in Stroud constituency).
  • Kingswood ward is transferred to the South Cotswolds constituency, (Cirencester and North Wiltshire constituency in the initial proposals).

These revised proposals would mean that the Stroud district would be split into three constituencies with three MPs when currently (and in the initial proposals), it is split into two. 

Parliament has asked the BCE to rebalance the number of electors in each constituency. Due to population changes since the last review, the number of electors in some constituencies is much higher than in others.

Each constituency must have an electorate that is no smaller than 69,724 and no larger than 77,062. The revised proposals result in an electorate of 76,249 for Stroud constituency, 72,865 for South Cotswolds constituency and 70,915 for North Cotswolds constituency. 

“These proposals would not affect which council area you live in, nor the services they provide to residents but could alter the Parliamentary constituency that you live in,” said SDC Acting Returning Officer and Chief Executive Kathy O’Leary.

To comment, visit www.bcereviews.org.uk – the deadline is December 5.

Latest News

Nailsworth gathers to pay tribute to ‘beautiful soul’ Jane Luff

The town of Nailsworth has been plunged into grief following the shock passing of popular clothes shop owner Jane Luff.
Skip to content